Certification 2017-12-05T09:57:48+00:00

RMA Receivables Management Certification Program

RMA’s Receivables Management Certification Program offers professional designations to companies and individuals operating and employed within the U.S. receivables industry. This “global standard” certification program was designed to promote uniform, consumer-oriented, best practice standards for the receivables industry.

» Click here to find a certified company (real-time database). 

» Click here to find a certified individual.

To earn an RMA certification designation, companies and individuals must demonstrate that they have implemented the required company standards and achieved the individual continuing education requirements. Learn how you can become RMA Certified:

Company Certification


Certified Professional Receivables Company 

Company certification is granted to debt buying companies, collection law firms, third-party collection agencies, and brokers that comply with uniform and rigorous industry standards of best practices including account documentation, consumer complaint and dispute resolution, vendor management, resale, and other operational procedures and pass a company background check.

Certification for debt buying companies: Debt buying companies who are actively purchasing portfolios must complete their CPRC designation within one year. Debt buying companies who are not actively purchasing receivables must meet the following requirements to remain an associate member:

  • Must not have purchased an account since your last membership renewal
  • When you purchase an account, it must meet all the requirements and standards outlined in the certification program
  • Must complete your company certification within one year of purchasing an account

Certification for collection law firms and third party agencies: Collection law firms, third party collection agencies, and brokers may voluntarily seek the CPRC designation but it is not a requirement in order to maintain their RMA membership.

Learn More

Individual Certification


Certified Receivables Compliance Professional

Individual certification will be granted to those who:

  • complete 24 credits of industry-relevant education
  • pass a criminal background screening

Individual certification is a requirement for the designated Chief Compliance Officer of a certified company.

Learn More

If you have a question or need further guidance on RMA’s Receivables Management Certification Program, please contact RMA at (916) 482-2462 or by email at cert@rmassociation.org.