Member Alert: DC City Council – RMAI Grassroots Campaign

/Member Alert: DC City Council – RMAI Grassroots Campaign

DC City Council – RMAI Grassroots Campaign

RMAI members, there is a pending bill in the D.C. City Council that we need your help to amend. This bill would drastically reduce the ability of judgment creditors to garnish debtors’ wages to collect on a valid, court-ordered judgment. This legislation will not impact only collections in D.C., but has the potential to serve as harmful precedent for similar wage garnishment legislation in Maryland and other states. The D.C. bill will have one final vote next Tuesday, December 18. RMAI wants to encourage 7 of the 13 D.C. City Council Members to vote in favor of a bill amendment that would increase the amount of wages allowed to be garnished.

If you are an RMAI member that collects in D.C., we are strongly encouraging you over the next 3 business days – Thursday, Friday, and next Monday to have as many people in your company call and/or email the messages below (or something similar) to the list of D.C. City Council Members:

Sample call:

Hello, can I speak with the staffer assigned to the pending wage garnishment legislation, Bill 22-572? I am a business / an attorney who collects upon contractual obligations that DC consumers have been ordered by a judge to repay. I am calling to ask the Council Member to vote in support of any amendment introduced at next Tuesday’s Second Reading to preserve the ability of creditors to recoup on court-ordered repayment obligations, and to ensure that credit at affordable rates continues to be extended to DC consumers. Please vote in support of the amendment. Thank you.

Sample email:

Dear Council Member _________ – I am writing concerning the pending wage garnishment legislation, Bill 22-572. As an employee of a business that collects upon delinquent contractual obligations that a judge has ordered to be repaid, I am extremely concerned about this legislation and ask you to support any amendment introduced at next Tuesday’s Second Reading that would preserve the ability of creditors to recoup on court-ordered repayment obligations and ensure that credit at affordable rates continues to be extended to DC consumers. This amendment is critical to ensure that DC does not become a place where lenders do not want to extend credit, and court-ordered judgments become essentially void, because of extremely onerous wage garnishment prohibitions. Please vote in support of the amendment to Bill 22-575.

 

Below are the 7 Council Members RMAI is asking that you call or email:

 

Council Member Mary Cheh; mcheh@dccouncil.us; (202) 724-8062

Council Member Kenyan McDuffie; kmcduffie@dccouncil.us; (202) 724-8028

Council Member Brandon Todd; btodd@dccouncil.us: (202) 724-8052

Council Member Jack Evans; jevans@dccouncil.us; (202) 724-8058

Council Member Anita Bonds; abonds@dccouncil.us; (202) 724-8064

Council Member Vincent Gray; vgray@dccouncil.us; (202) 724-8068

Council Member Trayon White; twhite@dccouncil.us; 202.724.8045

 

Thank you for your help in this grassroots campaign!

 

2018-12-13T11:36:07+00:00 December 13, 2018|Member Alerts|